You are here

Edyth May Sliffe Awards

The Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School are given annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers who have done outstanding work to motivate students in mathematics by participating in one of the MAA American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) competitions. Nominations for the Sliffe awards are accepted through this webpage during the month of May.


Sarah Arends, Maple School, Northbrook, IL
Storie Atkins, Columbus High School, Columbus, GA
William Bagnal, Arcata High School, Arcata, CA
Matt Buchta, Darien High School, Darien, CT
Sema Duzyol, Fulton Science Academy, Alpharetta, GA
Colin D. Hinde, Cranbrook Schools, Bloomfield Hills, MI
Susie Min, Oxford Academy, Cypress, CA
Steven J. Shaff, Sauk Valley Community College, Dixon, IL
Denise Shea, West Windsor Plainsboro High School, North Plainsboro, NJ
Daheng Shen, New Utrecht High School, Brooklyn, NY

The full list of past Edyth May Sliffe winners can be accessed here.

What is the award? More than 20 competition managers receive recognition from the MAA AMC program and a $500 stipend including recognition on the MAA website and social media. Award recipients will also receive free registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest 2020 in Philadelphia, PA, July 29-August 1, 2020. This is an annual conference for mathematics education and research that draws mathematicians from across the country.

Who is eligible for nomination? Middle or high school teachers who play a crucial role in preparing students to participate in the MAA American Mathematics Competitions. Administrators or instructors who are not teachers at a public or private school are not eligible; in particular, principals, superintendents, headmasters, college professors, Math Circle directors, and summer camp directors who are not primarily middle or high school teachers are not eligible.

Who can submit a nomination? A teacher must be nominated by at least two individuals. The nominators may be:

  • A student, parent, fellow teacher or associate, including school volunteers, or school administrators. (If two people co-sign this type of nomination it counts as two nominations).

  • Teachers are allowed to nominate themselves as long as someone else submits an additional nomination on their behalf. A self-nomination with a co-signer only counts as one nomination).

What criteria is the committee looking for? It is important to share the effect the teacher has had on students’ interest and participation in mathematics through preparation for the MAA American Mathematics Competitions. Providing examples of additional evidence can strengthen a nomination letter such as:

  • Improvement in AMC scores from past years;

  • An increase in the number of students participating in the AMC 8 or AMC 10/12 competitions;

  • An increase in the number of students who have gone on to participate in the invitational competitions, such as AIME and USAMO;

  • Efforts to encourage students to pursue mathematical training outside the classroom through math clubs, coaching students, providing extra mathematical training materials, etc.

How can I submit a nomination? The deadline for submitting a nomination was Saturday, June 1, 2019.